Week 8

This week was great, Anna finally talked to bishop and is going to
talk to her husband soon about being baptized.. So Bill (the husband)
is kind of abusive, and Anna wants to be baptized so bad and wants to
go to the temple to be baptized for her ancestors so bad but she
hasn’t told bill because he was raised thinking Mormons were a cult
and bad people and stuff so he would use it against her and her
family.. So she’s scared to, but I know Heavenly Father will answer my
prayer, because he wants her to be baptized. Bills heart just needs to
be softened a little bit, so can you keep her in your prayers? I love
her a lot.

Umm Pat finally started the quit smoking program, and we called him
the first day to see how he did.. And he’d already smoked, but I know
he can do it!

Oh dear, so we have the excommunicated member we are (were) teaching,
and he called us and said he didn’t want to take the lessons anymore,
but an hour later said never mind so we met with him and told him that
he needed to talk to bishop to take care of past transgressions and
then he would be set to be baptized.. But we had to get permission
from our mission president to teach him and he didn’t want us to, he
wanted the elders to so we told Jay that and he wrote bishop a note
and slipped it under his door on Sunday and said he didn’t want to
take the lessons anymore.. Kind of a dramatic guy.. But one day he’ll
come around!

We got to go to Olive Garden with the Crawfords… So good. I love
Italian food. But Alissa had a hold up, cause she really believes in
evolution. I really don’t believe I used to be a monkey and I don’t
know how exactly to explain that God made us in his image.. Help me
out?

Another cool thing, so in Virginia it’s like a holiday kind of on one
day called “A day to serve” all of Virginia just does service, usually
it’s church organizations and they do it literally ALL day, so we did
service all that day and boxed up over 600 boxes of thanksgiving
dinners for the poor.. It was awesome. Truly incredible every body’s
willingness to donate and serve.

Then Sunday night our stake had a fireside called the “Why I Believe”
fireside. And it was incredible, two famous authors in the Mormon
world spoke, the Givens and they were so awesome. They talked about
the blessings from the restoration and im totally using some of it in
my teaching cause it was good!
One thing that they talked about was gifts from the spirit. And they
told us to absolutely always REMEMBER the times when we feel the
spirit testified truth.. There was something there that told us this
is good, and that something was right to us. Remember the feelings you
had when you KNEW by the spirit that the church of Jesus Christ of
Latter-day Saints was true. “Did not our hearts burn within us?” It’s
so important… This work and this gospel is crucial.
You can ask questions and have doubts, that’s what builds your faith,
President George Albert Smith said: “Even to imply that members of the
church are not to do their own thinking is grossly to misrepresent the
true ideal of the church. ”
Just be careful to not let your doubts overcome your faith.

It’s so weird that we’re getting 3 new apostles.. I’m so used to
singing that 12& first presidency song, I’m gonna be all thrown off
now, unless they find names that rhyme. But I’m excited to see who
will be called! My votes are for Elder Dube & Elder Vinson. Cause
that’d be pretty cool to say I’d hugged them. We will see!

I loved the general women’s broadcast.. It really helped me see the
divinity of my  calling as a daughter of God even more. I love that I
get to be a wife and a momma someday. Some of my favorite parts were
when Sister Wixom said that there are 2 important days in mortality,
1: the day you are born and 2: the day you find out why… 🙂 I love
how she put that! To be able to see ourselves as we truly are is hard
sometimes, for me anyways because I feel so unworthy of such a
blessing, but Heavenly Father knows better. Umm I loved in sister
Reeves talk when she said that when we meet our father and look back
at our life during mortality and look at the trials we faced, we will
ask, “was that all that was required of me?” She says ‘ why will it
matter what we suffered here , if those trials are what qualify us to
live with our father in heaven again?’ How comforting is that?!? I
love it.. But the talk that stood out to ME most was president
uchtdorfs talk.. He gave a parable of a girl who had to live with her
great aunt and she was bummed, but did it. Her aunt was never married
or anything but was still so happy and the girl always wonder why so
the day she left she asked her and her sung rode said that when she
discovered faith she discovered joy. “Faith. I discovered faith. And
faith led to hope. And faith and hope led me to knowing that one day
everything would make sense–faith in the savior taught me that no
matter what happened in the past.. My story could have a happy
ending.” I love that.. And it was something I really needed to hear.
Conference is my favorite time of the year 🙂

“I am here because I desire with all my heart to follow my Master,
Jesus Christ. I yearn to do all that He asks of me in this great
cause. I hunger to be edified by the Holy Spirit and hear the voice of
God as He speaks through His ordained servants. I am here to become a
better (wo)man, to be lifted by the inspiring examples of my brothers
and sisters in Christ, and to learn how to more effectively minister
to those in need.
In short, I am here because I love my Heavenly Father and His Son,
Jesus Christ.”
Dieter F Uchtdorf

image2 (4)image1image1 (5)

Leave a Reply

