Week 11

This week was good! Poor Sister Orr was sick with strep all week (@ the doctor)
image4
We were cooped up at home for most of the week..so I just had to hang
out and avoid trunky thoughts while we couldn’t do anything.. I
studied all the conference talks from this conference! ๐Ÿ™‚ But she’s
feeling better now, so we’re back to work!! Before coming out on my
mission it was hard to not feel like once I got here that it was just
work and work and work and work all day.. Which you do, but “god cares
just as much about the instrument as he does the task at hand..” That
quote comforted me A LOT this week, even though I wasn’t the one sick
I know that Heavenly Father cares so much about missionaries, and that
they are happy and healthy–just as much as he cares about finding and
teaching investigators!

We met with a less active family whose son is turning 8 soon and wants
to be baptized.. Hopefully they can get back into the habit of coming
to church again! It would bless their lives SO much!! She’s about to
have her 5th baby, and they’re getting ready for a baptism so it’s a
perfect time to realize the importance of the gospel in not only
theirs, but their children’s lives! We also got to meet with secret
service Steve and it was awesome.. We asked him how sincerely he was
seeking truth and it really made him think.. So he’s making some
changes in his life that will allow him to receive the revelation of
the truthfulness of this beautiful gospel! He took his family to the
TVC this weekend.. And said it was awesome and then he came to church
and fasted with us on Sunday to receive guidance.. He’s so great!
We’re so excited for him to have the peace and comfort this gospel
brings, and I just know he will accept it in time! His wife received
her endowments on Saturday and she is so excited to use that to help
answer some of Steve’s questions, and start to be a little bit more
pushy about temple marriage! I love that we can be sealed to our
families for eternity… It’s the best news this gospel has!!

We did family history with Margo, and she found out that she has
distant relatives who are LDS, and they were already baptized for her
mom.. Which she wasn’t too happy about but we’re trying to figure it
out! So we get to go do baptisms with her soon! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m excited! I
searched back on my family history far enough to find out that me and
my companion share an ancestor from England in 1777 named Cicely
Melling ๐Ÿ™‚ 8 generations back, but still pretty sweet! Then later that
day Edi’s step daughter was in town sooo we taught a lesson while
getting mani-pedis…. Hastening the work in a salon.
image5
Saturday we finally went out, our zone had a zone finding activity..
Not finding to teach, but finding for service, so we went out in our
work clothes rather than pros clothes and it felt so weird we tracted,
asking if people needed any service done rather than proselyting and I
felt so awkward.. nobody let us do service for them, but we did
contact a less active who will let us come help her another day, so
that’ll be good!! Then that night we met with Anna and bill and got
really bold with Bill, he just hasn’t really given Anna ‘permission’
to be baptized so we basically asked if he would and he said yeah and
I’m so excited!! We have been trying for months to figure out how to
get her baptized and she said “you know what, I’m just going to jump
in and there’s really nothing he can do about it.” You go Anna. But
really, it was a miracle and such a blessing.. His heart is changing,
we can see it! He asked questions and we answered every one of them.
He is just so caught up in what other people think about our church..
People have given him a million anti-Mormon things, but he hasn’t sook
for the truth.. But I know the second he opens the Book of Mormon, if
his heart is in the right place, that he won’t worry about what the
world thinks about the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
because he will know it’s true. I wish that day was going to be
tomorrow. But it’s not likely. ๐Ÿ˜‘
IMG_2170

Then later that night we taught the Crawfords! Oh my goodness I love
them! We talked about individual divine worth and it was exactly what
we needed to talk about.. We began the lesson by asking the question
‘what do you base your worth on?’ And they said things like ‘how
others see be (trustworthy, hardworking) and ‘how well I provide for
my family’ which are all good things.. But we know that our potential
is far greater than how much money we make, or how other see us.. We
have a father in heaven whoย  sees our divine potential, even when we
don’t. Sometimes I am not sure who I am. I donโ€™t feel Heavenly
Fatherโ€™s love. My life seems hard. Things are not turning out the way
I wanted, hoped, and dreamed they would.โ€ I know unequivocally that we
are all children of God. He knows you, He loves you, and He has a plan
for you.

1 Samuel 16:7 But the Lord said unto Samuel, Look not on his
countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused
him: for the Lord seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the
outward appearance, but the Lord looketh on the heart.
That topic is one of my favorite things to talk about and to try to
explain, that in this world as children or God we are all somebody.
“C. S. Lewis wisely said: โ€œIt is a serious thing to live in a society
of possible gods and goddesses, to remember that the dullest and most
uninteresting person you can talk to may one day be a creature which,
if you saw it now, you would be strongly tempted to worship. โ€ฆ There
are no ordinary people. โ€ฆ Your neighbor is the holiest object
presented to your senses.”
—-so cool right? It’s such an awesome perspective to have.
Also, we tracted and sis. Orr took this picture and it looks like I’m
stealing their pumpkins, but their giant dog started barking at us..
image1
We taught John and Edi last night and tried to just get a feel for
what is holding him back from wanting to be baptized, and there were a
few things, he believes in reincarnation (which I really don’t get..),
he doesn’t know about the spirit world and people proselyting there,
and so Edi asked him if he had proof that the only way he could be
with her forever was by going through the temple if he would do it,
and he doesn’t think he likes the idea of eternal families. ๐Ÿ˜
Right? We were kind of in shock cause that the best news ever to most
of the world.. So she was really sad and were trying to figure it all
out. I am so grateful for the chance i have to have a celestial
marriage and eternal family!! We also taught cute little old lady
Lucia, and we’re going to the temple visitors center on Friday with
her! We are so excited! She feels that she’s too old to change her
ways and she thinks the church is too complicated.. So naturally we
read Uchtdorfs talk and it straightened that out a little bit. That
day was sooo freezing, only like 37 degrees all day! So we were little
icicles.
image6

Anyways..LIfe is good ๐Ÿ™‚ As I’ve come to love myself, and to see myself as my father in heaven sees me, I’m able to see others that same way, and my love for God’s children has grown soooo much!

Today.. I get to look like a real girl.
image3

Leave a Reply

