Week 18

Merry Christmas!!!

Time goes by so fast… It doesn’t even feel
like Christmas, mostly cause I’m on the other side of the country and
there’s NO snow!! But that’s not what Christmas is really about.. I’ve
never had a more uncomplicated Christmas than I will this year. I’m
able to focus my thoughts and intents solely on Jesus Christ, and I’m
SO grateful for that. I love when everyone says that they just feel
the “Christmas spirit” because I know that they finally feel, or
recognize the light of Christ during this season, it’s great!
We got to work at the temple visitors center again and that was great
as always, our last time will be tonight, but last time I was able to
talk to a woman from Jordan and it was such an uplifting experience. I
gave her a Book of Mormon in both Arabic and English and she was so
excited and sweet, her name was Clara! The diversity of people I’ve
met is crazy!! Little background that’s  personal, but it strengthened
my testimony, and I hope it’ll strengthen yours..  I got my
patriarchal blessing when I was very young, like 13 years old! But I
felt ready.  There was a sentence in it that I always questioned,  it
tells me that I will be able to bear my testimony around the world..
How in the world could that happen? Maybe a calling, maybe a career, I
had no idea! I never even thought about a mission at 13–no way
Jose–but as I’ve been on my mission I have seen that promise
fulfilled. This week alone I was able to bear my testimony to people
from Liberia, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Jordan, Nepal, Sri Lanka,
Jamaica, Saudi Arabia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Dominican
Republic and Sierra Leone. I prayed before my mission that Heavenly
Father could send me any where in the world and I would be happy.. But
instead he sent the whole world to me. It’s pretty cool how he knows
what he’s doing.
I accidentally stole from target.. Don’t worry I went back and paid
for it. We tracted into a lady with a medical face mask on and latex
gloves and she said “I don’t have time now, I’m in the middle of that
cat procedure!” -speaking as if we knew exactly what she was talking
about- we taught seminary which was a crazy experience, these poor
kids over here wake up at like 5:30 to go to seminary!! How blessed
are we Utahans/idahoans? Yeah we taught freshman about Balak and
Balaam… Man it’s been a long time since I studied the Old Testament.
But it worked out. Kudos to seminary and institute teachers!!
We had our mission Christmas party which was a blast!
image1
The whole mission got together and had a 3 hour devotional, then we
had lunch and every time someone makes us lunch we sing them Called to
Serve, then we had a talent show (I sang where are you Christmas & my
comp sis Eaton played the piano-it was fun) then we watched a mission
video and had some closing talks then practiced for the New Year’s Eve
performance… It turned into a 9 hour party then we had a Ward party
that night… It was a fun day, but I didn’t feel like a missionary
for 90% of it, it was weird.

Not gonna lie though, these last couple days have been super rough.
One of my companions (Sis. Eaton) is in her last transfer so she is a
vet sister, and one of the best missionaries I’ve ever met, but she is
so excited to go home. And then there’s the other companion (Sis.
Chandler) who I’ve known my whole mission and who I love so very much,
but she has been sick the past couple transfers and our mission
president has decided that she needs to return home and get better.
She’s on her way home now…so basically it’s gonna be a longgggg
week.
image2 (1)
But it’s Christmas and the work keeps moving forward!
I love you and I hope you have a very merry Christmas, thank you for
all you do!
“As we exchange gifts at Christmas, may we remember, appreciate, and
receive that greatest gift of all gifts–the gift of our Savior and
Redeemer, that we might have eternal life.
“For what doth it profit a man if a gift is bestowed upon him, and he
receive not the gift? Behold, he rejoices not in that which is given
unto him, neither rejoices in him who is the giver of the gift.”
May we follow Him, serve Him, honor Him, and receive in our lives His
gifts to us, that we might be, in the words of Father Lehi, “encircled
about eternally in the arms of his love.”
Love,
Sis Palmer ❤️

image3 (1)

Leave a Reply

