Week 19

Wow, it’s been a week! I hope you all had a Merry Christmas!

3

Christmas on missions are soooo weird. Awesome, but weird. It’s like you build
up SO much excitement to see your family, then you see them and it’s
100 different emotions running through the mind, then and hour later
you’re saying goodbye for another 6 months. You can see pictures, and
maybe even a video-but it definitely doesn’t do real life justice. So
yeah, it was an emotional, awesome day basically. What’d ya get from
Santa Clause? I didn’t think I’d feel the excitement of Christmas
morning, but boy was I wrong. I couldn’t sleep and I woke up at 5
(only an hour before I usually do, but still unheard of as a
missionary..especially when we got permission to sleep in.) so I
showered and turned on all the Christmas lights so my companion could
wake up to them and I turned on Christmas music. It was cute. She
didn’t wake up til 6:30 but then we opened presents (as a missionary
your presents aren’t very exciting or anything special..but still
super fun!) After we did that we went and had breakfast at our sister
training leaders apartment, and then acted out the nativity… It was
hilarious. Here’s a pic, cause the video was a little much.
untitled1
Christmas Eve was a blast!! 176 missionaries drove down to the temple
visitors center and had dinner then sang our guts out to a full
house.. It was so fun. And the spirit was SO strong. If you ever get
the chance (you don’t have to i just haven’t seen them) I hear some of
the songs are on YouTube so look up like Washington, D.C. South
missionaries at temple visitors center or something like that I guess?
And then tell me how it is! Here’s a picture of the group!
untitled
Also I saw my investigator from Haymarket (secret service agent Steve)
who is getting BAPTIZED in 2 weeks! Boo yah. Best day.
untitled2
Here’s me and my cute comp and I driving to it. We got ready and
that’s a rare occasion these days. We miss our third companion who
made the trio, but she’s doing so good and is getting better which is
all that matters!
33
We got to watch these cute kids in our Ward do a nativity together.
333
This lady is a superstar. She invites all her nonmember neighbors to
everything. She can speak both Japanese and Arabic so she’s teaching
them both to her kids. It’s awesome. We went to the temple visitors
center with her and two less active members who didn’t know each other
and they’re both from Sierra Leone their names are Isatu & Isata.. It
was a crazy night. Holy cow their kids have so much energy and the
visitors center was slam packed with thousands of people and we were
sweating to death… It was fun. But crazy.
4
They played on my iPad forever. But the oldest girl named Yumi (their
names are all Japanese they are Humsa, Ima, Emiko, Myumi..weirdest
names..cutest kids) is like a doppelgänger of my baby sister Briar, it
freaks me out.
1
We had dinner right before that with a family named the Morgan’s.. And
Brother Morgan’s brother lives in Monroe! His brother is Leah Morgan’s
husband!!!! It was a neat thing.. Small world.

Emotions were high and the work was super slow, the first half was
tougher than the last, but the work will pick up soon! Once the
holidays are over. How great is this time of year! I hope you all
chose something to give to your savior this year (because this season
is all about presents yeah?) I read this quote and loved it.
“As we exchange gifts may we remember, appreciate, and receive that
greatest gift of all gifts–the gift of our Savior and Redeemer, that
we might have eternal life.
“For what doth it profit a man if a gift is bestowed upon him, and he
receive not the gift? Behold, he rejoices not in that which is given
unto him, neither rejoices in him who is the giver of the gift.” D&C
88:33
May we follow Him, serve Him, honor Him, and receive in our lives His
gifts to us, that we might be, in the words of Father Lehi, “encircled
about eternally in the arms of his love.”
As your making your New Years resolutions, that usually don’t work out
like diets and other unimportant things like that, try and brainstorm
what gift you can give back to your savior this year. And if you can’t
think of anything, I invite you to pray and ask Heavenly Father what
it is you could do just a little bit better, and I promise HE WILL
TELL YOU. He’s all about progression you know. And if you feel so
inclined I would love to hear what you choose to work on, I’ll hold
you accountable 😉 (#youknowyoureamissionarywhen)
Anyways, I love you so very much. I can’t believe it’s already 2016!!
Time seriously flies. Dedicate the time you’ve got left in this short
little life to doing good, and rely on the savior when you don’t! Have
a wonderful week!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

image9

 

Leave a Reply

