Week 39

Hello!
Lots of wonderful stuff happening around here!
It flew by….. Ahhhh time is going so fast. I don’t like it.We were able to go to the temple again, this time for ourselves and it
was the greatest thing ever.. Made me think back to almost a year ago
when I got to go for the first time…I just remember walking in and
feeling this overwhelming feeling of relief & peace, kind of like “I’m
home” Type of thing. People often get frustrated, because they “can’t
go in” but that’s one reason why I serve, so that I can invite
everyone to work towards the blessings that come from the temple. Be
worthy, be working towards it, have it in the back of your mind all
the time–it’s worth it!

We did lots of service! Which I love, I love being able to help. We
help this elderly lady in our ward each week, and she is known to give
all the sisters who come around dating advice….  the only piece of
advice I got this time was to ALWAYS wear lipstick. She’s a big fan of
lipstick.
Wow, sorry. Not a necessary event to write about, but it made me laugh.

We met so many wonderful people this week! We had dinner with the
Altmans (recent convert couple) and their daughter wants to be
baptized! So we taught the restoration and she is on date for June 11!
Woot woot 🙂 We’re so excited. They’re a rockstar family!

We did lots of finding…. Always a blast! –I can actually say that
and mean it now.
I love talking to people! Even knocking on doors. I was talking to my
companion about how much I hated tracting (knocking on doors) and how
I would be so mad when we did. And now I love it!
#youknowyouvebeenamissionaryforawhilewhen…

Sunday was awesome. There was a missionary who had their homecoming
talk, and they set up the sacrament meeting so perfectly! The father,
and two of the brothers had kind of left the church as he was
serving.. And they invited a lot of their friends who are not (yet)
members.. And the whole meeting was on the restoration. He taught the
first lesson in a talk, and it was powerful! Soooo neat.

Then I got to speak in sacrament..wooooooo. It went well. I love
talking. Surprise?
I got to talk about unity-in the ward and in purpose as members.
It’s a commandment to be unified: D&C 38:27:
“I say unto you, be one; and if ye are not one ye are not mine.”
It’s a central theme in the gospel!

Our Father knew  what He was doing when He created us. He made us
enough alike to love each other, but enough different that we would
need to try hard to be unified!
Deep values and beliefs go to the core of who we are. We want our
loved ones to have them!  I think of Lehi gathering his family near
the end of his life. After he had asked them to leave their home and
travel to a new world. It was tough! But he said:
“And now that my soul might have joy in you, and that my heart
might leave this world with gladness because of you, that I might not
be brought down with grief and sorrow to the grave, arise from the
dust, my sons … and be determined in one mind and in one heart, united
in all things, that ye may not come down into captivity” (2 Ne. 1:21).

We can be united with leaders of the church.
We have no need to fear. I was once told the story of a young man who
waited every week for Sunday night football… He was always deeply
invested in the game, shouting at the refs, hoping they’d hear..
Giving the players some helpful words of advice… We all know one of
those–every BYU football game.
And like most of us would do, his family would usually end up leaving the room.
But one Sunday something came up, and he had to miss the game.. so his
family recorded it. Eventually a friend spoiled the outcome. They won
the game.
He still chose to watch the game, although this time, even though
there were still penalties, there were still poor calls by the refs
and mistakes made, but rather than getting worked up, the boy stayed
calm, because he knew who had one.
Today, the world is in commotion. Foul things are happening around us,
we don’t agree with every play or call that leaders make, we will make
mistakes.. But we know the outcome.. We know who wins. And so we do
our best. We are united in purpose, to share that news of hope and
happiness.

Not everyone’s duty is to go knock door to door and preach and
teach…That’s my job:)
It is the love of God and the love for friends and neighbors that
unifies us to serve people.

I thought back to the plane ride over here..I was terrified. But I was
considered one of “the lucky ones”..out of the 24 missionaries on the
plane, i got to sit next to two non-missionaries. Both were so
different! I tried talking to the lady sitting on my right, she was a
middle aged woman with an English accent, who would have liked to have
nothing to do with my excited, energetic fresh missionary self. After
a kind, but stern “leave me alone!” I became discouraged, and thoughts
ran through my head like “ohh dear, what have I done..it’s not too
late! Go tell the pilot to turn this plane around!!” And not even a
second later after the girl on my left saw my personal Book of Mormon
sitting on my lap began asking questions about it, and about what I
did as a missionary, and about the questions she had about life like
where she came from and why she’s here and where she’s going… With
tears filling my eyes I felt this immediate love, so doing all I knew
how to do, having only been a missionary for 12 days, I opened my
mouth and testified… I gave her my Book of Mormon and she read 6
chapters..right there. I still have no idea what has happened but I
pray for her everyday… Its what motivated me to speak that enabled
her to see that I was a striving disciple of Jesus Christ. LOVE love
love love.
John 13:35
“By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love
one to another.”

My favorite truth that I learn in this church is that I Am a Child of
God. And because of that, we are all children of God– that creates
the sense of unity not only for members of the church, but for
children around the world.
It’s the first truth we learn, but it’s often the easiest to forget.

Each and every person has a need to be reminded and rescued.
I love you!!! Sorry this was a million pages long.. Kind of.
I love being a missionary-forever & always.

Love,
Sister Palmer

Just lots of randomness….

Leave a Reply

