Week 57

What a great week.

First of all, I had such awesome studies this morning all about the Holy Ghost, and how important He is… I never knew it growing up, I’d learned about it and I believed it– but didn’t KNOW.  I read in 3 Nephi (My favorite chapters in the Book of Mormon–> when Jesus Christ, visits the people in the Book of Mormon shortly after his resurrection.)
He taught them, He blessed their children, He instituted the sacrament, and then He left for awhile, promising to come again the next day.
The people all began to gather others to be where He said He would appear to them.
The twelve disciples whom the lord had called began to teach what the Savior had taught them, and then they all prayed together.. Of all the things they could have prayed for, “they did pray for that which they most desired; and they desired that the Holy Ghost should be given unto them” (3 Nephi 19:9).
Following their prayer and in answer to their pleadings, Nephi baptized the disciples, & “the Holy Ghost did fall upon them, and they were filled with the Holy Ghost and with fire” (3 Nephi 19:13).
They received the convincing witness of Him.
The Savior then appeared to them:

And it came to pass that Jesus . . . went a little way off from them and bowed himself to the earth, and he said: Father, I thank thee that thou hast given the Holy Ghost unto these whom I have chosen. . . . Father, I pray thee that thou wilt give the Holy Ghost unto all them that shall believe in their words.” [3 Nephi 19:19–21]

This passage gives us a small understanding of how important our Savior feels the Holy Ghost is.. We need the spirit sooooo badly, for the guidance, comfort, safety, love and direction of life. He loves us and that’s a way He shows us… So often I find myself wondering whether the spirit is talking to me or whether I’m talking to my self! Good ol President Gordon B. Hinckley said:

“How do we know the things of the Spirit? How do we know that it is from God? By the fruits of it. If it leads to growth and development, if it leads to faith and testimony, if it leads to a better way of doing things, if it leads to godliness, then it is of God. If it tears us down, if it brings us into darkness, if it confuses us and worries us, if it leads to faithlessness, then it is not.”

It’s that simple.
Strive to have the spirit, I’m striving more each day to seek His guidance because I don’t ever want it to go away, not tomorrow, or next month, or ever. He loves us soooo much.
He will no leave us comfortless.
Fun little adventure of the week:
I got transferred. I was a little bummed, not gonna lie. I did a “one & done” in McLean which is difficult cause you just get to know the people, then you leave.
(Saying cya later to Emily & Syona )
image1.JPG
But it was just what I needed, and Sister Tankersley is wonderful and leading the area again so she’ll do great!
Here’s the old zone:
image3.JPG
My awkward arm….
The district.
image5.JPG
Cafe rio with the crew.
image4.JPG
& transfer meeting- last time with the cactus shirts.
image6.JPG
But all is well, I’m in Oakton and was asked to be an STL (sister training leader- basically I just get to serve a lot of sisters, it rocks) and my companion is Sister Labrum. Which is wonderful. We were high school rivals (Vball & Bball- we weren’t fans of each other) and then I got to know her and her family right before the mission and now we’re companions.
Needless to say, we are pretty excited.
image7.JPG
If our faces don’t show our excitement, I don’t know what will.
We’re trying to get creative in our area to get the work progressing, and to get the investigators that we are working with progressing. It’ll be good. I haven’t met too many of our people that were working with yet, so I apologize… But he first week of transfers is always the time for that, so I’m excited.
I’m so incredibly blessed to be in the Oakton Stake again, and to have the wonderful opportunity to serve our Heavenly Father. I love this work, I love my Savior. I love you.
Have a great week, be righteous, love the Lord. Thanks for all you do cool cats.
Love,
Sister Palmer
Leave a Reply

